top of page
blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLilian Lee

a steady routine.

Updated: Apr 14, 2019



Music by Rex Orange County - Corduroy Dreams / FKJ - Better Give You Up


I've established somewhat of a steady routine. I wake up at around 7am everyday. Catch up on the news and watch a video whilst eating breakfast, which is normally cereal with banana, or just a piece of fruit. I then get ready for work and off to the train station by 9:30am the latest. Work 10am - 6pm. Have lunch at about 12pm - 1pm either by myself, or with the other interns working in the same area. Come back home. Either have a takeaway meal dinner back home or eat out with the others. Chill, edit videos or write some of my blog. Shower. Go to sleep and repeat.


I literally, just eat and work.


Working has made me realise, how rough my type skills are. I didn't take Typography in 2nd year and it really shows in my work. One of the projects I'm doing at work is the re-layout of all the type for a tri-fold (a brochure) and it's actually terrible. Kerning, tracking, leading - ALL THAT! I'm literally relearning Indesign all over again. Which is good, but it made me become aware that I should be practicing and refining my skills regularly. Once university is over for the year, or even for the semester, I'm just like, "CYA! I'm gonna do my own thing". I had a goal to do a poster a day, or even a poster a week over the summer to keep developing my design skills. But that didn't happen and I wish I did it.

On the upside, it's great working 10am - 6pm, though I start later and end later, I enjoy the sleep in. It's just what the culture is like here, because everyone works later, and even over time, everything opens late and stays open late.


Friday the 15th of March, was a terrible day. After hearing the news about the Christchurch Shooting, everything went down hill. My idea of New Zealand, my home, being a safe haven was destroyed. I know it is naive to think like that, but it's been that way ever since I was a little kid. Nothing like that every happens in New Zealand, but it did and it's real. Even though Christchurch is not my hometown, it still hurts. It still harms our little nation. I am sick and disgusted with what had happened. No one at work really understood why I felt that way I felt and why I was crying on my desk hearing the news. It was just a terrible day.


Kia Kaha Christchurch. #TheyAreUs.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page