top of page
blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLilian Lee

last week in hong kong.



Music by Drax Project - Toto.

Where has the time gone?It is my last week in Hong Kong. Work has been somewhat busy, needing to get things done before Sean leaves for a work trip on Wednesday. Still working on the same projects as last week, we have gotten feedback from the clients for the first few rounds of the projects so we have been refining and developing the ideas. It really puts into perspective on how much I don't think about the actual selected target audiences for each project. I kind of just go with the flow with what looks nice, but you really need to put yourselves in their shoes and see what they would be interested in looking at to be able to sell them the product or service. Needing to become that parent, wanting to find extra tutoring for their kids, what would they want to see on the landing page of a website? Needing to become the Gin enthusiast, what is so special about this gin and why should I buy it? What's so good about it? It makes the project flow easier and makes the user experience.

On Thursday I went to get a hair cut at a place called QB House during my lunch break. I was getting sick of the length of my hair and with the weather being hot, I just wanted to trim it off. This hair cut experience was interesting haha. They promised a 10minute haircut, and used an air-washer opposed to a shampooing service. I was a bit skeptical at first, as most of the advertising seemed to be aimed at men. However, one of my co-workers, Gloria, said that she has done it before to get her split ends chopped off. With the price being only $60HKD ($12NZD) and only taking 10 minutes of my time, I thought why not, and it turned out pretty good for its price and its time. On Friday, it was my last day working at Kōbo. They took me out for a farewell lunch at a traditional Hong Kong Dim Sum restaurant where they served the dim sum in traditional pushing trolleys, something that you rarely see nowadays. It was delicious. After finishing off my finals projects for my time here, it was time to say goodbye. Though, I didn't officially say goodbye to Kōbo, as I am coming back in about a weeks time after I travel to Vietnam with Frankie en route home. So there was an awkward "goodbye, but see you in a week" vibe which made the ending of Hong Kong not yet finished. Overall, I am really sad to leave Hong Kong. I have loved every minute of being here and it's the most connected I have been with my Chinese culture than I have ever in my life. Sure, Hong Kong is a more westernised country, but I feel like its a perfect blend of what I am. A New Zealand born Chinese. I was brought up in a European country with immigrant parents and with somewhat of a Chinese Malaysian upbringing at home. Sure, with growing up, the need to speak in my native tongue seemed useless in a white country, but has definitely helped me get in touch with it here. The food is amazing, authentic Chinese food with cheap eats of roast meats at your local, but also the diverse cuisines you can find everywhere. It made me so at home, and honestly, it felt like a home away from home.

In a few weeks time, I will post a reflection of my time here in Hong Kong, with a video as well. So stay tuned for that. But for now, see you later Hong Kong. I will be back :)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page