top of page
blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLilian Lee

foreign yet familiar.





Foreign Yet Familiar.


In response to my three month internship in Hong Kong, I have created a three part series called ‘Foreign Yet Familiar’. The idea and the name of the series is a collection of my thoughts: before, during and after my time here. As a New Zealand born Chinese, I have gone somewhere that is foreign in terms of cultures and way of life compared to New Zealand. Yet, somewhere that is familiar with the Chinese culture that is in my blood. The imagery and style of this series is inspired by the Chinese “chop” seals, that can be found in Hong Kong. These chops were a traditional must-have, a seal with ones name engraved on to, to stamp important documents. The first poster is the traditional Chinese chop seal itself, and the second poster is an imitation and inverse of that, with the English trying to be like the Chinese characters, making it foreign, yet somewhat familiar. The third poster is the culmination of both English and Chinese. The grunge texture is to imitate that stamping motion, and not being able to have a perfect finished product. The idea that Hong Kong has made a mark on me.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page