top of page
blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLilian Lee

breakfast foods galore.




Music by John Splithoff - Sing To You.


Kam Wah Cafe 金華冰廳 , a local cha chaan teng, famous for it's buttered pineapple buns, french toast, egg tarts and milk tea. That's what I was looking for. A place that served all those things. Kam Wah is located between Mong Kok and Prince Edwards on Kowloon side. We got off at Prince Edwards got off at exit B2, and walked for 4mins and arrived at our destination. It was a big cafe, full of people. We were lucky enough to get our own booth. Everything was in Chinese and no English. None of the waiters seemed like they spoke English either. Since I found out I was going to Hong Kong, I have been asking my parents to talk to me in Cantonese and teach me how to say, specifically, buttered pineapple buns, and milk tea. Luckily that short lesson had me prepared for this very moment. I had to show her a picture of the French toast on my phone but other than that, it was a success ordering everything else in Cantonese! I was set to get all of those things after watching a YouTube review, the YT couple had a second breakfast after, so I thought it would be doable. Next think you know, after eating the french toast I was stuffed. I could not eat anymore.


The Cold Milk Tea - AMAZING. The balance of sweetness and tea ratio was perfect. Cold milk tea is wayyyyy better than hot milk tea I have found. Though it does cost more, it's only a couple of cents so it definitely worth it. The serving size was also massive, so that is a big plus! Definitely not the best milk tea I've had, but it's up there in the top 3.

The French Toast - Yum, thick buttery goodness. It definitely needs the golden syrup on top to give it that extra push of sweetness to heighten the flavours. But honestly would go back for it again! And if I do go back, it would be the only thing that I would order as the portion size is massive, and with the amount of oil, it's all you need haha.

The Buttered Pineapple Bun - I was not sold on the pineapple bun with the cold butter. Though I feel like I can't judge fairly as I had it hours after I ordered it when the bread was cold and the butter was half melted haha. The salted butter and the crispy sweet toppings of the pineapple bun in my opinion did not really match well together. The saltiness overpowered it which I think takes away from the classic bolo bao taste. I would definitely want to go back and try it when its fresh out of the oven with the cold butter as I think that would give it a different taste but for now, I am not too sure how I feel about it.

The Egg Tart - It was not the best egg tart that I have tasted. The consistency of the "egg" was more like a thick set jelly. Which was questionable, not what I was used too and it didn't really taste like egg. I was not a fan of it, it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. It was ok.


Overall that mean costed about $59HKD - just $12NZD for breakfast! HOW GOOD!? Definitely a place you have to go to if you're in Hong Kong!


One waitress was just constantly ignoring me when I kept trying to get her attention to takeaway our pineapple buns. She kept telling us to just leave. Another customer saw me get ignored so she waved down another waitress for us. The waitress told me that I have to yell, and be louder to be able to get anywhere with the service in Hong Kong. We got our takeaway bags and we were on our way. We went to TST and walked around the waterfront and saw the Avenue of Stars. Went into an ink gallery then walked in Kowloon Park, the Hong Kong version of Central Park in New York City in a smaller scale of course. We then went to Sham Shui Po to check out the different markets and the Golden Arcade where everyone goes to to get their electronic deals. It was actually insane. Hundreds of shops crammed into this building, full of gaming, tech and more. It was overwhelming but honestly interesting to see.


After a long exhausting Saturday and A rainy Hong Kong weekend I just had a chill Sunday.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page