top of page
blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLilian Lee

busy busy.

Updated: Apr 14, 2019



Music by UMI - butterfly.


If you didn't know, Hong Kong is up there on the list of most public holidays in the world. Most asian countries are on the top of the list. This coming weekend is a long weekend!


As my stomach was slowly recovering over the weekend, I stuck to quite clean and fresh food for the first few days of the week. For breakfast I had porridge at home. I've got to be honest, I have never had porridge, oat porridge, till now. Back at home, in New Zealand, with my Chinese parents, we have porridge, also known to most people as congee - rice porridge which is mostly savoury and made and eaten when sick. When talking to the HK5 about porridge, we're talking about two different things. I had my first congee since I've been here this week at the local dim sum restaurant near work. It tasted just the way I thought it would, needing to add soy sauce and only $4NZD which is crazy cheap for a massive bowl! Building up my taste buds again, I went to a popular must try cha chaan teng called, Lan Fong Yuen, known famously for its' silken milk tea. I had one of their popular dishes recommended to me by my work mate; spring onion chicken instant noodles and damn, it was yum! It was about $50HKD ($10NZD) I think, which is in the mid-range of costs but I reckon its worth it for the amount of food you get. I would definitely go back and try their other classic cha chaan teng foods and for their milk tea.


The start of the short working week was busy. I had to start and finish a concept look for a brochure that was due on the same day, plus balancing another quick and easy job for another client that has been taking weeks to get back for refinement and changes.

Good news, we had another meeting with the same client a few weeks back.

Bad news, it did not go well. Key things you need between yourself and a client is clear communication and understanding. There was a miscommunication. The client was not happy. We were excused out of the room. But all is good - we are still working with the client. I started doing some research, creating concepts and moodboard's for their hat design and I am excited to see where it goes! It's a tight schedule though! I'm needing to send a few concepts to them by next week Tuesday. It seemed easy at first, but I think I just over thought about how to present my ideas to them digitally in the format of the end product, when I just needed to show them the idea . On Thursday, I started helping in another project, creating a logo concept for a new company who are wanting to create comedic videos and posts on social media. It's probably one of the most creative projects I have been part of since I have been here which was a nice change! I ended up staying late at work to help out! It was then the long weekend!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page