top of page
blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLilian Lee

easter weekend.



Music by James Bay - Wanderlust


It was finally another long weekend. Gotta love Hong Kong for their many public holidays. Good Friday was a chill start only having two things in mind, we took it slow. We went to Tim Ho Wan, a Michelin star dim sum restaurant that has been highly recommended to go to by friends for lunch. It's famous for it baked bbq pork buns, and prawn dumplings. This was the first time Frankie & Georgia have ever tried chicken feet! It was interesting to see how they both handled the situation on eating something that is foreign to them. Frankie went straight for it, unfazed. Georgia on the other hand did not want to do it, but being a brave soul, she did it. All in all, they wouldn't get it again. But it wasn't bad, it's not the greatest thing in the world haha but it's not inedible. It wasn't as offensive as they thought it would be. I applaud them for giving it a try. I ended up finishing it off. Tim Ho Wan was totally worth it! I would definitely go there again, the baked bbq pork bun was life changing and definitely has changed the game for bbq pork buns for me. 10/10. Worth it for the price. Worth it for the food. It's my worth it winner for dim sum. Tim Ho Won! As we were in Central, we went on a walk around till it was time for our session at the Van Gogh museum. I was feeling some milk tea from Lan Fong Yuen and then it started pouring down with rain. I was dumb and didn't look at the forecast to bring an umbrella, so I had to go buy my third one. Good thing I did because the rain didn't stop and it was heavy. We made our way to Kowloon Bay for the Van Gogh Alive Exhibition. It was really interesting to read about Van Gogh's work and life. I didn't know that he was in a bad state of mind during the time he was alive, as that did not reflect in his series of paintings. In fact it went in the opposite direction.


Saturday was yet another chill day exploring the close cities. The weather forecast was torrential rain so I didn't want to go too far. I ended up going on my own version of a Wan Chai heritage walk. The torrential rain hit and it was time to go home.


On Saturday night going on Sunday morning I knew something was up. I could not go to sleep and something was wrong. I ended up getting food poisoning again.


Monday was an interesting day. Frankie, Georgia and I made our way to Shen Zhen the border of China. After changing three different trains, we finally made it to customs. We ended up going straight to boarder security with their lack of clear signage, but I was second guessing that this would be too easy, knowing that we needed to get visas. We ended up asking some people where they got their visas from and they told us we had to go up stairs. We had to get our pictures taken, fill out a form and had to wait in line to get our visas done. After about 3hrs, using up half the money we exchanged for the visas, we finally got into Shen Zhen. Everything was different. It was a big city, with lots of space. First thing you notice is the bikes. Everyone spoke mandarin. Everything was in Chinese. It was a whole different vibe to Hong Kong.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page